International Standards and Conformity Assessment for all electrical, electronic and related technologies



Reference EN 50131-3:2009
Title Alarm systems - Intrusion and hold-up systems - Part 3: Control and indicating equipment
Project Number 20900
Abstract/Scope This standard specifies the requirements, performance criteria and testing procedures for control and indicating equipment (CIE) intended for use in intrusion and hold-up alarm systems (I&HAS) installed in buildings. This document also applies to CIE to be used in IAS or HAS. The CIE may incorporate processing functions of other I&HAS components or its processing requirements may be distributed among such components. This standard specifies the requirements for CIE installed in buildings using specific or non-specific wired interconnections or wire-free interconnections. These requirements also apply to ACE that are installed inside or outside of the supervised premises and mounted in indoor or outdoor environments. Where CIE shares means of detection, interconnection, control, communication, processing and/or power supplies with other applications, these requirements apply to I&HAS functions only. This standard specifies performance requirements for CIE at each of the four security grades identified in the European Standard EN 50131-1, “Alarm Systems – Intrusion and hold-up systems – System requirements”. Requirements are also specified for four environmental classes covering applications for indoor and outdoor locations. This standard includes mandatory functions, which shall be provided on all CIE for the appropriate security grade, as well as optional functions that may additionally be provided. This standard does not deal with requirements for compliance with EU regulatory Directives, such as the EMC Directive, Low Voltage Directive, etc. except in that it specifies the equipment operating conditions for EMC susceptibility testing as required by EN 50130-4. NOTE In this standard reference to the term “I&HAS” is used throughout, except where there is specific need to differentiate between the IAS and HAS portions of a system. The term is intended to include IAS and HAS when such systems are installed separately.


Current Stage code 6060
Current Stage code date 2009-03-20
Current Stage code deadline 2010-02-01
Deadline date for vote 2008-12-31


Order Voucher  


IEC Technical Body  
Reference Document  
ICS 13.310 - Protection against crime
Keywords Alarm system; Intrusion system; Control; Indicator
Note Supersedes CLC/TS 50131-3:2003 * Corrigendum to EN issued December 2010
Special National Condition(s)  


Categories - Aspects
Product Life Cycle


Deadline Date
6060 2009-03-20 2010-02-01 export to doc file  EN  FR  DE
5099 2009-02-01 2009-06-01  
5061 2008-11-26 2009-02-01  
5060 2008-09-23 2008-10-23 export to doc file  EN
5020 2008-04-18 2008-09-19 export to doc file  EN
3090 2008-03-03 2008-04-03  
2020 2007-09-07 2007-12-31  
1099 2006-11-01 2007-03-31  
1000 2006-09-28 2006-10-31  

Implementation Dates

date of Ratification (DOR) (1) 2009-02-01
date of Availability (DAV) (2) 2009-03-20
date of Announcement (DOA) (3) 2009-08-01
date of Publication (DOP) (4) 2010-02-01
date of Withdrawal (DOW) (5) 2012-02-01


(1) Date of ratification (dor) date when the Technical Board notes the approval of an EN (and HD for CENELEC), from which time the standard may be said to be approved

(2) Date of availability (dav) date when the definitive text in the official language versions of an approved CEN/CENELEC publication is distributed by the Central Secretariat

(3) Date of announcement (doa) latest date by which the existence of an EN (and HD for CENELEC), a TS or a CWA has to be announced at national level

(4) Date of publication (dop) latest date by which an EN has to be implemented at national level by publication of an identical national standard or by endorsement

(5) Date of withdrawal (dow) latest date by which national standards conflicting with an EN (and HD for CENELEC) have to be withdrawn

(6) This list of normative references is purely indicative. The only official list of normative reference is the list of the published standard.